"I am not an advocate for frequent changes in laws and constitutions. But laws and institutions must go hand in hand with the progress of the human mind. As that becomes more developed, more enlightened, as new discoveries are made, new truths discovered and manners and opinions change, with the change of circumstances, institutions must advance also to keep pace with the times. We might as well require a man to wear still the coat which fitted him when a boy as civilized society to remain ever under the regimen of their barbarous ancestors." - Thomas Jefferson (appears in the Jefferson Memorial)

Mass exodus

Asked around about the number (and names) of Idaho legislators planning not to return to the Statehouse, and – well beyond those whose announcements I could remember – there were a lot. Some people suggested the number of (willing) departures could be a record.

Some of this surely has to be reapportionment as legislators are thrown into new districts, sometimes with each other. But are there other reasons as well? You suspect so.

Senate Republicans – John McGee, R-Caldwell (already gone, though apparently only semi-willingly), Shirley McKague, R-Meridian, Joyce Broadsword, R-Sagle, Jim Hammond, R-Coeur d’Alene.

Senate Democrats – Edgar Malepaei, D-Pocatello, Nicole LeFavour, D-Boise

House Republicans – Tom Trail, R-Moscow, R.J. Dick Harwood, R-St. Maries, Sharon Block, R-Twin Falls, Leon Smith, R-Twin Falls, Janice McGeachin, R-Idaho Falls, Marge Chadderdon, R-Coeur d’Alene, Mack Shirley, R-Rexburg, Bert Stevenson, R-Rupert,

House Democrats – Wendy Jaquet, D-Ketchum, Elfreda Higgins, D-Garden City.

Then there are House members running for Senate seats:

Republicans – Clifford Bayer, R-Boise, Marv Hagedorn, R-Meridian, Jeff Nesset, R-Lewiston, Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene, Steven Thayn, R-Emmett, Jim Patrick, R-Twin Falls.

Democrats – Cherie Buckner-Webb, D-Boise. 

Share on Facebook